Spaceship Earth, Anoles and Selfies

Made my way to sunny Florida a couple of days ago.  I left my home in New Jersey at 5:15 in the morning in 30 degree weather to get to Newark for a flight to sunny Florida!  Florida promised 85 degree days and meetings with customers.  Both of which could either end in warmth and joy or overheating and sweating…  But fear not, as I have much confidence in our beautiful selection of products and our service that it could only go well.

But customer meetings aside, I managed to spend some time at Epcot Center and specifically at the Japan Pavillion.  This place is so fun.  Just walking around the Pavillion gates was great, enjoying the smell of something being fried – could it be potato-fry? ebi-fry? tempura? some sort of tako-yaki??  Whatever it was, it smelled so good.

DSC00073

If you’ve ever been to the Japan Pavillion at Epcot Center, you must have visited Mitsukoshi, the famous Japanese department store outpost, filled with almost everything Japanese that you can imagine.  Hello Kitty?  check.  Transformers? check.  Pocky? check.  Kimono?  check.  Umbrella shaped like a samurai sword?  Well, yes, they have this and I must say, I definitely could not have imagined that but there it is!  Kinda cool.

And of course, Miya tableware…  What can we say?  Mitsukoshi has good taste.

I knew I would get some great backdrops for pictures and instead of taking a bunch of selfies (because no one needs to see that and grown women sound weird saying “selfie”) I thought I would use my cute Little Red Riding Hood figurines to help me make things a little more interesting.  I’ve been carrying these around with me lately.  So while I’m too grown to use the word, “selfie,” I seem to have no issue carrying around little figurines to photograph for my amusement.   I don’t understand it either, don’t worry.

DSC00079So here’s Little Red sketching Spaceship Earth.  She could get stepped on at any minute as it was a particularly crowded October day oustide Mitsukoshi but she’s an artist and she doesn’t mind suffering.

DSC00084Here she is calling out to someone with Spaceship Earth behind her.  Who’s she calling?

DSC00088She’s calling the little lizard by the gate.  Apparently this is called an anole and they are chameleon-like.  Can you see it?  Red spotted it right away and wanted to play.  If I were her, I would have run screaming the other way considering I am only slightly larger than the anole but Red’s a bit daring.  She’s wearing this very showy red hoodie in 85 degree weather after all.

That anole, by the way, must be so used to people, living in Disney World, that he did not even budge as I took a gazillion pictures of it.  Squirrels in the city are sometimes like that.  They sometimes eyeball you and size you up and you just know that if they could talk, they’d say, “You talking to me?  Are YOU talking to ME??!!”  Tough city De Niro squirrels.  Scary things – right up there with those creepy city pigeons…

I had to drive 3 hours to Boca Raton that night so I finally packed up my camera, my figurines, channeled my inner tween and took a selfie before I left!  Next stop – Morikami Museum!

IMG_5916

One thought on “Spaceship Earth, Anoles and Selfies

Leave a Reply

