Bento Lunch Boxes

There’s something so cute and picnic-y about having lunch from bento boxes.   If the bento were larger, it may be as charming as eating leftovers out of Tupperware but since bento are usually cute and compact, let’s go with the picnic thing.

We have this great bento box line that is very affordable and comes in really great colors.

We sell a lot of these because, really, who can resist a cute bento box?  Now, it’s from Japan, so as is often the case for things from Japan, it’s got some crazy weird English on it that makes you say, HUH?  Luckily, it’s just on the packaging and not the bento themselves and it isn’t as bad as some others that I’ve seen but here it is – judge for yourself:

First of all, it’s branded “Glit & Brillia” which really makes me wonder where they came up with these names.  Are they partners?  Are they brothers or sisters?  Are they a law firm?  Are they even Japanese?  Not sure.  Then it says, “A Taste That Makes Sense Comes From A Production Process That Makes Sense,” which teeters on actually making sense…  I kinda get it.  But aside from all that, this is a good product and I commend Glit & her brother, Brillia for a job well done!

Back to the beauty of bento boxes!

I asked Yoko, my poor suffering assistant, to make a bento lunch using these boxes.  Since she is actually from Japan, I figured she would be my best choice.  Crafty cuteness is gleaned by osmosis in Japan in case you didn’t know.  So even though, she goes to Moe’s almost every day for lunch (she’s young), she came in one day with these great pics.  Here are her bento:

These bento are about 6″ wide, 5″ long and 2.5″ tall so although some people think they may be too small for an adult size meal, they actually hold a lot!  Plus, it’s always a good idea to think about portion control.  With this, you can actually control how much food you are consuming at lunch.  I mean, if you filled it with cheesecake, this would not work but I’m guessing you are all much more reasonable than that!

I use these all the time for my kids’ lunches.  Sandwiches fit well – if you use a roll, you may have to squish it a bit but it’s perfectly fine.  My littlest doesn’t like sandwiches so she gets pasta with a little bit of cheese sprinkled in.  They are really easy for little ones to snap open and close too.  I use the smaller snack packs for things like Goldfish, pretzels, fruit, etc.  And they like the bright colors.

I’m determined to try to make a proper bento meal with cut out Nori and all one of these days but I’m afraid the kids would probably not eat it.  My kids only like Japanese food when Baba (Grandma) cooks it.   But I won’t let that stop me.  I will make the best mediocre Japanese food my limited skills will allow!  Gambarimasu!

If anyone has some pictures of great bento food you like to make or even recipes of easy  bento food, share it with us!  My kids will thank you.

 

Leave a Reply

