Haha no Hi

It is almost “Haha no hi!” (read “ha ha no hee”)

No, this isn’t a flashback to Lamaze class.  “Haha no hi” means “Mother’s Day” in Japanese.  It’s celebrated on the second Sunday in May, as it is in the U.S.  And just as in the rest of the world on Mother’s Day, the kids try to do something nice for the moms.  Usually in the form of carnations.   So, since there may be a shortage of carnations if you have not yet reserved some for this Sunday, I found a really beautiful alternative to the real thing.

I found this at:  FoldingTrees.com

Gorgeous!

You will need:

  • Tissue paper
  • Scissors
  • 2 large paper clips
  • Pipe cleaners (chenille stems) or floral wire
  • Coloured marker pen
  • Optional: floral wire, floral tape, wire cutters

For complete instructions, please go to FoldingTrees.com by clicking on the image above.

I’m looking forward to trying to make these with my girls.  But if being crafty is not your thing, you might consider a nice covered mug like this:

I think I’ll get my mom & mother-in-law this pretty covered mug. It has a ceramic strainer for steeping loose tea leaves. And a cover so that she can keep her tea hot longer. Which is perfect for when she gets interrupted so many times by my kids (when I drop them off with Grandma for some free babysitting.)  I’m so considerate…

Happy Mother’s Day everyone!

Leave a Reply

